London, UK: The BBMak Inspired Eye

While I’ve wanted to visit England for a long time, it has never been at the very tip-top of my list. Rightly (or wrongly), I have wanted to spend my vacation time traveling to countries much more culturally different from my own. UK culture, with its music, television shows,  movies, stores, and traditions (and celebrity chefs!), are very similar or the same as the U.S. But hey, there are some things I cannot complain about, like the fact that Gordon Ramsay can infiltrate my television any day of the week!

Regardless of my greater love for the other half of Europe, I could not pass up an opportunity to check out London. 🙂 We arrived in the late afternoon, quickly checking into our Hyde Park hotel and immediately heading over to the London Eye. The London Eye has been on my “must see” list for London since I can remember; I’m not sure what exactly sparked my interest. Was it hearing rave reviews from friends who had visited? Seeing photos of the famous Eye in skyline shots of London? Early 2000s era BBMak music videos? (Don’t judge!)

The Eye was pretty cool and much like most things in London, very expensive. We didn’t book online, but the ticket lines moved quickly enough that I didn’t mind the wait. We opted to get the package with the Eye and the river cruise (which we took the next day). The capsules were comfortable and clean, and luckily they didn’t cram us all into them like sardines, which is always a fear with popular tourist sights anywhere.

london_eye.jpg
The London Eye capsule ahead

We were fairly lucky while on the Eye, because it had to temporarily stop, allowing us to spend an extra 15 minutes checking out the views over the Thames River. We visited on a foggy, drizzly day, but luckily the night sky gave us a lot to admire.

london_eyeonparliament.jpg
The view of the River Thames from the London Eye

While heading back to the metro station, by happenstance we ran into an amazing night food market. Fresh burgers, piping hot waffles topped with ice cream, Indian curry puffed rice, and fresh squeezed juices! There were dozens of stalls serving international fare. We opted to get some freshly-made Portuguese pastel de nata (custard tarts) and dessert waffles.

london_natas.jpg

Not a bad welcome, London!

Leave a Reply

